Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13 Hosts 8th Annual STEM Awards

June 10, 2024 By IU13 Staff


The Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13 (IU13) STEM Team hosted their 8th Annual STEM Awards on May 20, 2024, to celebrate educators and leaders in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The event, sponsored by Lancaster County STEM Alliance, was held at the Lancaster Science Factory, which gave students an opportunity to explore and create.

The following awards and acknowledgements were given during the event:


STEM student competition winners:

Connie Fisk (Hempfield SD) – Media & Design Competition, Graphic & Logo Design

Fianna Clark and Liesel Keller (E-town ASD) – Invention Convention State Champions

Providence Elementary (Solanco SD) – PA Invention Convention Honorable Mention

Donegal STEMalorians (Donegal SD) – 1st Place, Mini STEM Bowl

Quizzly Bear Avengers (E-town ASD) – 1st Place, Elementary STEM Bowl

Robert Aquino, Andrew Shoffner, Jonathan Ansbach, Caedmon Marshall, Alex Zavala Avena, Noah Stike, Noah Matos (Pequea Valley SD) – 1st Place, E-Sports

A-2 Sydney Team (Warwick ASD) – National 3rd Place, Future City

Owen Dean, Peter Mecouch, Jake McClune, Bennett Wehibe (Lampeter-Strasburg SD) – Chief Science Officers

Ephrata ASD – 1st Place, K’Nex Competition

Mario Delmoral, Jackson Nash, Marcus Wardrop, Ben Behan, Clair Roda (E-town ASD) – 1st Place, Elementary Chess

Atticus Rabern, Navaneeth Chandra, Declan Gaffney, Dylan Deboard-Coyne, Jude Valle, Jack Lesoine (Ephrata ASD) – 1st Place, Middle School Chess


IU13 STEM Teachers of the Year:

Matt Lash – Lebanon SD

Andi Fellows – IU13


IU13 STEM School of the Year:

Ephrata Area Middle School


Local Businesses, STEM Champions in Education:

Advanced Cooling Technologies

Career Link

Precision Cobotics

Sahd Metal Recycling

Millersville University



The 2024 STEM Awards Banquet was sponsored by the Lancaster County STEM Alliance and hosted by Lancaster-Lebanon IU13.